Author Topic: Wizard's Quest  (Read 36487 times)

purestrain

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2010, 05:50:51 PM »
5 times a seconds is just top average while writing with a keyboard  ;D - i'm usually more at 6-7 times a second when writing comments. Actually sometimes the game feels like it is swallowing input because of the 200ms delay.

Krice

  • (Banned)
  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 2316
  • Karma: +0/-2
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2010, 07:47:16 PM »
Movement animation is 200ms.

Yeah, right. Let's all tell that to my sempron.

Xecutor

  • 7DRL Reviewer
  • Rogueliker
  • *
  • Posts: 263
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2010, 07:44:41 AM »
Movement animation is 200ms.

Yeah, right. Let's all tell that to my sempron.
That's actually strange. I don't think that semprot 1800+ is slower than celeron 1.8Ghz.
At least on linux with such celeron wq works fine (with 1180x924 window).
Btw that is your operating system?

For now you can change fps parameter in options to 100.
It doesn't change fps actually, but it will decrease number of frames
on move animation. Yeah, I know, it looks like I have bug there :)

purestrain

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2010, 08:18:42 AM »
You should just do the animations for 200ms and render as fast as possible; if someone gets only one frame it looks jumpy but is ok.

Let the player change the animation delay (0,50,100,200) and maximum frames/seconds so that my fans don't start to spin up while playing a !!roguelike!!.

Krice

  • (Banned)
  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 2316
  • Karma: +0/-2
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #19 on: February 20, 2010, 10:16:11 AM »
Set resolution to 800x600. It's now playable. ? key doesn't work, by the way. And you really need to fix the options screen. When you set resolution it's trashed. Also I think it's better just give a couple of fixed standard resolutions to choose from, with possible fixed font sizes for them.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 10:18:40 AM by Krice »

Xecutor

  • 7DRL Reviewer
  • Rogueliker
  • *
  • Posts: 263
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #20 on: February 20, 2010, 11:11:34 AM »
? key doesn't work, by the way.
On what operating system?
It works on macos and windows for sure...
I never actually tried to press it on linux...

And you really need to fix the options screen. When you set resolution it's trashed.
Ah.. When reducing screen size... There is some clipping.
I'll fix this.

Also I think it's better just give a couple of fixed standard resolutions to choose from, with possible fixed font sizes for them.
With huge amount of weird resolutions of widescreen monitors on laptops...
It's really hard to make reliable menu with choices...


Krice

  • (Banned)
  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 2316
  • Karma: +0/-2
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2010, 11:46:55 AM »
On what operating system?

WinXP. I guess it's my different keyboard layout (finnish).

Quote
Ah.. When reducing screen size... There is some clipping.

No, the options menu itself is trashed. The menu highlight is cut in half etc.

Quote
With huge amount of weird resolutions of widescreen monitors on laptops...
It's really hard to make reliable menu with choices...

One of the options could be "automatic" which then scales to desktop size.

Xecutor

  • 7DRL Reviewer
  • Rogueliker
  • *
  • Posts: 263
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2010, 12:32:40 PM »
On what operating system?
WinXP. I guess it's my different keyboard layout (finnish).
Try to press shift-/

colonp

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #23 on: January 28, 2011, 06:18:13 PM »
Seems like a pretty neat game. I like the animations quite a bit, wish more RLs had them like this. Game is killing me quite hard at the moment, but I only just started, so :)

How do I use the altars? - Interact with them, like doors etc. Of course.

Are there shops where I can sell stuff? Or should I just drop items that are useless because I have better ones?

What does carrying capacity actually do? ie. does carrying items actually slow me down, or is it just a yes/no to carry any more? nvm, got burdened  :-X

A lightened up wall is "bright" on both sides, which is odd ;)

More spell statistics (range, damage) would be nice

What are altars of item recycling for? I assume they're for recharging?
« Last Edit: January 28, 2011, 10:18:35 PM by colonp »

Xecutor

  • 7DRL Reviewer
  • Rogueliker
  • *
  • Posts: 263
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #24 on: January 29, 2011, 03:53:56 PM »
Seems like a pretty neat game.
Thanks :)

Quote
I like the animations quite a bit, wish more RLs had them like this. Game is killing me quite hard at the moment, but I only just started, so :)
You havn't found powerful spells combos yet :)

Quote
How do I use the altars? - Interact with them, like doors etc. Of course.

Are there shops where I can sell stuff? Or should I just drop items that are useless because I have better ones?
You can recycle items on altars of items recycling :)

Quote
What does carrying capacity actually do? ie. does carrying items actually slow me down, or is it just a yes/no to carry any more? nvm, got burdened  :-X

A lightened up wall is "bright" on both sides, which is odd ;)
Well. It is sometimes very useful. When someone who has light source is moving along the wall on the other side :)

Quote

More spell statistics (range, damage) would be nice

What are altars of item recycling for? I assume they're for recharging?
Answered earlier :)

colonp

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #25 on: January 30, 2011, 08:29:01 AM »
Well, it's sorta limited what sort of combinations I can get when I usually die on level 2 or 3 :P .. Kobold archers are scary.

Balance seem kinda wacky - there can be amazing difference even between what one character starts with compared to another.  Some starting items have no extra effects, while some have 4 or so. Same thing with found items.

What does altars of [element] do?
« Last Edit: January 30, 2011, 09:08:23 AM by colonp »

Xecutor

  • 7DRL Reviewer
  • Rogueliker
  • *
  • Posts: 263
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #26 on: January 30, 2011, 08:53:07 AM »
Well, it's sorta limited what sort of combinations I can get when I usually die on level 2 or 3 :P .. Kobold archers are scary.
Slowed archer can be killed easily :)
You can dodge shots if your movement speed is greater than their attack speed.
If you have 'summon' spells - just summon element and dance around.

Quote
Balance seem kinda wacky - there can be amazing difference even between what one character starts with compared to another.  Some starting items have no extra effects, while some have 4 or so. Same thing with found items.
At most one enchantment is possible on common items.
It is definitely possible to clear first two - three levels with items without echantments.

Quote
What does altars of [element] do?
Not [element], but light or darkness :)
It has something to do with state of current level ;)

colonp

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #27 on: January 30, 2011, 09:07:52 AM »
Well, it's sorta limited what sort of combinations I can get when I usually die on level 2 or 3 :P .. Kobold archers are scary.
Slowed archer can be killed easily :)
You can dodge shots if your movement speed is greater than their attack speed.
If you have 'summon' spells - just summon element and dance around.
Didn't think of using summoning in that way. Neato.


Run doesn't seem to do anything. Is it a speed increase or what? Don't know what I did wrong before, it just started working for me.

Maybe make ambient energy global, or say, from current level and up. Saves the player having to run to the upstairs if more regen is needed and there is more energy on the upper levels.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2011, 10:02:23 AM by colonp »

Xecutor

  • 7DRL Reviewer
  • Rogueliker
  • *
  • Posts: 263
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2011, 05:38:28 AM »
Maybe make ambient energy global, or say, from current level and up. Saves the player having to run to the upstairs if more regen is needed and there is more energy on the upper levels.
Probably I'll make it in a little different way with next version.
Right now starting value on the level depends on character's stats. Which is probably wrong.

colonp

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wizard's Quest
« Reply #29 on: February 02, 2011, 05:50:13 AM »
How do altars of item recycling actually work?