Author Topic: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus  (Read 44012 times)

elwin

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Roguelike Gallery
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #15 on: July 16, 2016, 03:58:06 PM »
The RRP did release version 5.4.5, sometime in 2008 I think.  I have not changed any version numbers.

I've made some source updates in the last few months.  See this list for details.
Roguelike Gallery: play Rogue online.  SSH or in browser.

LazyCat

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #16 on: July 16, 2016, 05:47:12 PM »
The RRP did release version 5.4.5, sometime in 2008 I think.  I have not changed any version numbers.

I've made some source updates in the last few months.  See this list for details.

5.4.5 is not with all the other versions on their sourceforge account, for some reason. So I guess you took Rogue restoration (preservation) upon yourself. Do you have any plans what to do with it beside hosting SSH? Fixing bugs, or some other kind of code re-writes to make it more readable and elegant perhaps?

elwin

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Roguelike Gallery
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #17 on: July 16, 2016, 07:39:11 PM »
Yendor moved the project off of Sourceforge sometime around 2003, because Sourceforge didn't support Subversion back then.  The RRP's most recent releases are only on rogue.rogueforge.net.  (And maybe on the Internet Archive.)  Not many people noticed 5.4.5: most Android/iOS ports were based on 5.4.4.

I fix all the bugs I can find.  I'm also trying to improve Windows support and modernize the build system.  Code rewrites are done to make compilers complain less.  Readability and elegance are hopeless causes for a codebase created when K&R C, 1st Edition was hot off the presses.
Roguelike Gallery: play Rogue online.  SSH or in browser.

LazyCat

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #18 on: July 18, 2016, 08:13:49 AM »
I fix all the bugs I can find.  I'm also trying to improve Windows support and modernize the build system.  Code rewrites are done to make compilers complain less.  Readability and elegance are hopeless causes for a codebase created when K&R C, 1st Edition was hot off the presses.

Good on you. Did you know the code has implemented some animations which can not be seen due to fast updates? 30 years ago with slow terminals those animations were probably ok, but today to be seen they need a little sleep between screen updates. Let me know if you want to enable them and I'll point where they are in the source code.

By the way, I found a free server: alwaysdata.com. The resources available for free accounts are minimal and the difference in speed between that and $20 per month one is quite noticeable, but still it's not bad. Check it out:

ssh rodney@185.31.40.85
password: yendor


Although it doesn't really bother me, I think I have solved security issue with this script in bash_profile:
Code: [Select]
trap "" SIGINT
trap "" SIGTSTP
while [ $? -ne 9 ]; do
./rogue5
done
logout

Basically it logs you directly into the game and at the end it loops back and starts the game all over, until either  client closes connection or saves the game, in which case the game exits with code 9 and the script logs out.

LazyCat

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #19 on: July 18, 2016, 08:45:44 AM »
Version 02 is out, first post updated with the download link. It's pretty much complete and fully playable.

LazyCat

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #20 on: July 24, 2016, 12:33:22 AM »
Polish, polish, polish, testing, testing, testing... new version online, first post updated with the download link.


Legend

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 657
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #21 on: July 24, 2016, 01:58:07 AM »
This is pretty cool. I like how it looks. One request would be if you could be taken back to a main menu after death in order to start a new game rather than having the game automatically terminate after death and having to restart the program again.

Also, numlock has to be turned off in order to use the number pad which is the opposite of normal and doesnt register pressing the enter key on the number pad.

LazyCat

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #22 on: July 24, 2016, 05:39:28 AM »
This is pretty cool. I like how it looks. One request would be if you could be taken back to a main menu after death in order to start a new game rather than having the game automatically terminate after death and having to restart the program again.

That's how it works through SSH. Anyway, thank you for your input, I'll address that by providing batch/script file to start the game.  In the meantime you can do this yourself:

Widows:
- make "run.bat" file in GAME folder:
Code: [Select]
:label1
.\GAME\rogue.exe
GOTO label1

- in outside (Release) folder edit "play-rogue" shortcut properties, Target: %COMSPEC%  /C GAME\run.bat


Linux:
- make "play-rogue" bash script in the game folder:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash
while [ $? -ne 9 ]; do
./rogue
done


Quote
Also, numlock has to be turned off in order to use the number pad which is the opposite of normal and doesnt register pressing the enter key on the number pad.

Hey, you are supposed to use mouse!
« Last Edit: July 24, 2016, 06:35:23 AM by LazyCat »

LazyCat

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #23 on: July 27, 2016, 10:11:16 AM »
Play in a browser: http://52.42.113.72:9999/

Is there anyone who can beat my record?

Squeeealer

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #24 on: July 27, 2016, 10:01:14 PM »
Played some today. Because I'm so accustomed to using the keyboard, I found navigating with the mouse to be very cumbersome, but I can see how it would be helpful or more attractive to a newcomer.

I liked how you could throw projectiles with one single action instead of (what usually takes me) 3-4 actions.

I would like to see a "fight to the brink of death" command, or did I just miss it?

I like how items appear and are arranged. I found this whole system to be very useful.

I like how it says to shoot arrows. When I first started I was very confused about the fact that you "throw" arrows despite having the bow equipped. What would be incredible is if it would automatically equip the bow for you when you are shooting arrows and then automatically switch back to your last used weapon when you melee, but I realize that won't work (since equipping is an action in the melee example) and that in some desperate situations you actually need to throw an arrow without your bow.

When I was testing potions I quaffed a potion of monster detection. It prompted me with, "Heh." I thought that was weird. I started typing monster detect and keying the m made something pop up that said, "magick". I could at that point key in my label.

I quit using the mouse for moving around at some point, but used the mouse for occasional actions. On Floor 5 my game locked up. Not sure if the game had an issue or if my internet connection had a hiccup or what. I was using the keyboard to eat a ration.

I like that you were able to keep the action of moving onto an object without picking it up.

In general, the game just looked good. Crisp and clear.

LazyCat

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #25 on: July 28, 2016, 12:02:19 AM »
Thank you for your input, much appreciated.

Played some today. Because I'm so accustomed to using the keyboard, I found navigating with the mouse to be very cumbersome, but I can see how it would be helpful or more attractive to a newcomer.

After playing with keyboard for more than a year I guess you are indeed very accustomed to it. Still, it's how it works on Mac and Atari, so after a few games I expect you would be completely used to mouse controls and actually prefer it.

Tip: you don't need to click exactly where you want to move, but only at general direction and the game will automatically stop at doors and before bumping into monsters. Usually you want to click further away, so when you fight monsters for example don't click on them, but anywhere behind them, unless you want to shoot arrows or throw daggers/shurikens, in which case you do need to right-click on a monster exactly.


Quote
When I was testing potions I quaffed a potion of monster detection. It prompted me with, "Heh." I thought that was weird.

I've added little messages like that where there were none, so when there is no visual effect on the screen after using a magic item the user still gets some feedback the action (read/quaff) was actually performed.


Quote
I started typing monster detect and keying the m made something pop up that said, "magick". I could at that point key in my label.

So when when you read a scroll or quaff a potion that is not automatically identified, first you get a message about the effect, like "your hands start glowing red". The game then pauses (blinking cursor) waiting for acknowledgment to make sure you have read the message, and then after your click mouse/press a key, it prompts you to name that potion/scroll you've just used.


Quote
I quit using the mouse for moving around at some point, but used the mouse for occasional actions. On Floor 5 my game locked up. Not sure if the game had an issue or if my internet connection had a hiccup or what. I was using the keyboard to eat a ration.

Possibly I was uploading a new version. If it happens again let me know what were you doing last few turns, like you did now. In any case, I think your game was saved, so if you start a new game with the same name it should restore to the point where it broke off.

Squeeealer

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #26 on: July 28, 2016, 01:11:09 PM »
I was sandwiched between a Bat and a Rattlesnake. I wanted to test my staff against the Rattlesnake. When I clicked on my staff and then clicked Zap, it zapped the Bat. What did I need to do to ensure it would go the direction I wanted it to?

Squeeealer

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #27 on: July 28, 2016, 03:28:52 PM »
More notes:

When I key "e" to eat and then * to select an item to eat, either the game freezes or nothing happens.

Apparently there aren't specific scrolls of identify, but when I use the keyboard to read a scroll of identify, then select * to see the list of things I can identify, only potions appear on that list.  My other items did not.

My last run ended by a death to a Venus Flytrap. It took me from my max HP of 48 to -2. That was a little unusual. My equipment was decent with a long sword with one enchantment and an armor class 6. Since the Venus Flytrap was flawed somehow at one point in elwin's version, perhaps it just functions differently across different versions and I'm just not used to it.

I really like the "battle animation" when I use the F key to fight. It gives me a general idea of how many turns are occurring in a battle which I find to be useful information.

LazyCat

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #28 on: July 28, 2016, 10:31:32 PM »
I was sandwiched between a Bat and a Rattlesnake. I wanted to test my staff against the Rattlesnake. When I clicked on my staff and then clicked Zap, it zapped the Bat. What did I need to do to ensure it would go the direction I wanted it to?

When you click button Zap (or Throw, or Shoot) it asks you "Which direction?", then you to click on the monster or anywhere in its general direction on the map relative to your character.


LazyCat

  • Rogueliker
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced Super Turbo Rogue Plus
« Reply #29 on: July 28, 2016, 11:23:26 PM »
More notes:

When I key "e" to eat and then * to select an item to eat, either the game freezes or nothing happens.

Press 'e' then press 'shift' + '8', then press 'space' to exit inventory screen, and then finally press a letter allocated to food.... that's four key strokes! With mouse it's two clicks: click food, click eat.

Mouse input uses its own new functions. Old keyboard input is not supposed to be used, it's completely untested with this new functionality flow of mouse input and it's actually scheduled for removal.


Quote
Apparently there aren't specific scrolls of identify, but when I use the keyboard to read a scroll of identify, then select * to see the list of things I can identify, only potions appear on that list.  My other items did not.

Yes, like in Mac and Atari version there is only one type of ID scroll, a general one, which can be applied to ID either armor, weapon, ring or wand.

Perhaps I should preserve keyboard input rather than removing it, but at this point I can only say - don't use keyboard. There is already a whole inventory listed on the right hand side of the screen. No need to list anything, just click an item and then click 'Identify' button.


Quote
My last run ended by a death to a Venus Flytrap. It took me from my max HP of 48 to -2. That was a little unusual. My equipment was decent with a long sword with one enchantment and an armor class 6. Since the Venus Flytrap was flawed somehow at one point in elwin's version, perhaps it just functions differently across different versions and I'm just not used to it.

Rogue+ is updated to match Elwin's latest version, which includes modifications to Venus Flytrap. In the course of my testing I've beaten about dozen of them with no problem at all, so I guess it was just a bad luck in your run.