Author Topic: Clarion - The Open-World Graphical Roguelike  (Read 23007 times)

David Collins

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
    • Clarion
    • Email
Clarion - The Open-World Graphical Roguelike
« on: December 08, 2011, 10:06:07 PM »
I'm new to the roguelike community, and I hope you'll have me. To enter with some pizazz, I present Clarion, a labor of love and months of hard work.

News, Info, and Download: http://clariongame.wordpress.com/

It still has a long way to go, but I've reached the point in development where I'm confident enough to start showing things off to a larger audience. Maybe I'll even gather a group of people who'll give good feedback. Clarion is still under heavy development, and not even 10% of the planned features are in yet, so keep up with the blog if this seems like your kind of game.

Here are the main features.
-Turn-based roguelike gameplay, with some quirky mechanics thrown in like "concentration" and "botch".
-Developed by an artist-and-programmer in one! The graphics serve the gameplay with an easily-readable cartoony presentation.
-Intuitive controls and UI. Forget that mess of hotkeys and endless menus.
-Large procedurally-generated world. Go dungeon diving, run along the coast, or explore a desert, and much more.
-Sound effects and voice acting. Catchy music by Blue Warrior: http://www.youtube.com/user/CobaltBW?feature=g-user#g/c/A1CFAF91C135D355
-A unique setting and story. Replace orcs, dwarves, and elves with screaming wurms, apes, and dinosaur men.
-Edible money!
-Emergent A.I. allows characters to get tired and go to sleep in beds, run away when injured, use doors, use any skill in the game, and do almost anything the player can.

Pueo

• Rogueliker
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Clarion - The Open-World Graphical Roguelike
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2011, 10:20:30 PM »