Author Topic: Need help with getting A* ai algorithm working with obstacles  (Read 19468 times)

Conal

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Hi I am developing a roguelike in C++ , I use alot of old C ways of doing stuff as Im new to it and just learning as I go, anyway I have a somewhat rough procedural corridors and rooms dungeon. I then went to write A* for my AI as well, anyway as a test I want the mob to take the shortest path to my pc all in one go. This does work to a point in fact if I dont say (if not walkable miss that fcost and dont add to closed list) It always takes the shortest route but thats through walls and everything. If I miss an iteration for obstacles then when the situation arises where there is an obstacle and the mob and PC are on the same height it jams at the wall

###
@   #       
      #     M

Fine ^

####
@    #   M
       #

Jams ^     

I have been at the A* for begginers site and have been on this for weeks, I have come to the forums as a last resort.

Heres some theoy pertaining to how Ive immplemented it, in fact heres the code: (Its messy but I am just learning and this is my third immplementation trying to do it through basic arrays also I use -2 as a way to know when I am at the first place I can add an element

Code: [Select]
if(playerturn == true)
{
mobarray[currentm->id] = currentm;
mobarray[currentp->id] = currentp;
//do player turn

//after everything set back to false
playerturn = false;

}else
{

//do mob turn

//look for mob

//find player via current PID
begin_x = currentm->pt.w;
begin_y = currentm->pt.h;

//set player target loc
targetX = currentp->pt.w; //this is where the mob must get to
targetY = currentp->pt.h;

//set mob as start location and start parent
newstartX = begin_x;  //the newstart vars get updated each smallest Fcost
newstartY = begin_y;
parent_x = newstartX;
parent_y = newstartY; //first time before loop parent = newstart
//add the starting square or node to the openlist

theCLOSEDLIST[0][0].cx = newstartX;