Author Topic: Is it possible to make a rougelike in Java ME?  (Read 21075 times)

Sithun

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Is it possible to make a rougelike in Java ME?
« on: March 04, 2010, 12:17:54 PM »
The question is like the subject. I have been looking for good rougelikes for my cell phone, and ive found one. I tried it, but didnt like it. Since i am currently studying Software engineering (2nd term), I would like to give a try at making a VERY basic roguelike engine for my phone, a Nokia 5800 XM, as a 2 week project.

A few problems arises: As ive read on other sites, colored characters will be a hindrance, even with standard Java its difficult to make it work. I expect it would be worse with Java ME.

Has anyone tried this before? Succesfully? Unsuccessfully?

Etinarg

• Rogueliker
  • Idea archivist and game tinkerer.
    • View Profile
    • Gedankenweber Blog (German)
Re: Is it possible to make a rougelike in Java ME?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2010, 01:02:35 PM »
The old roguelikes for mainframes also worked on monochrome terminals. I would assume that the lack of colors is no problem really, particularly for a small roguelike.

Slash

• Creator of Roguetemple
  • Administrator
  • Rogueliker
    • View Profile
    • Slashie.net
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2010, 01:11:24 AM »
The question is like the subject. I have been looking for good rougelikes for my cell phone, and ive found one. I tried it, but didnt like it. Since i am currently studying Software engineering (2nd term), I would like to give a try at making a VERY basic roguelike engine for my phone, a Nokia 5800 XM, as a 2 week project.

A few problems arises: As ive read on other sites, colored characters will be a hindrance, even with standard Java its difficult to make it work. I expect it would be worse with Java ME.

Has anyone tried this before? Succesfully? Unsuccessfully?

What JavaME roguelikes did you try?

Sithun

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
    • Email