Author Topic: The Role of Planning and Design in Rougelike Development  (Read 29442 times)

damakun

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
The Role of Planning and Design in Rougelike Development
« on: April 13, 2009, 07:12:41 AM »
Hello ! I am new to rouge dev, but not new to programming. I have lurked here and at rougebasin, and I have not seen much discussion about "modern" development practices. Granted, I don't want to shower people with corporate buzzwords, but I wonder what role does OOP and RAD play in Rogue-dev, if any ?

Indeed, I see a great deal of trial by error. How much planning goes into a Rouge, in general ? Are data structures, key interactions, etc. thought out in advance ?

Also, how long does it take to complete a rougelike to the point where it is playable ? How much time does it take to maintain out in the wild ?

On an unrelated note : thinking of using java or a game builder like Torque (the 2d version) - any ideas about that ?

Please let me know if you need me to clarify or give additional information. Thanks !

PaulBlay

• Rogueliker
    • View Profile
Re: The Role of Planning and Design in Rougelike Development
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2009, 08:58:03 AM »
On an unrelated note : thinking of using java or a game builder like Torque (the 2d version) - any ideas about that ?

There are a lot of roguelikes that use Java.  It may be worth checking out the competition (/possible sources ;-)

http://roguebasin.roguelikedevelopment.org/index.php?title=Java#Java_Roguelikes

corremn

• Rogueliker
  • SewerJack Extraordinaire
    • View Profile
    • Demise RogueLike Games
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2009, 10:10:37 AM »
Hello ! I am new to rouge dev, but not new to programming. I have lurked here and at rougebasin, and I have not seen much discussion about "modern" development practices. Granted, I don't want to shower people with corporate buzzwords, but I wonder what role does OOP and RAD play in Rogue-dev, if any ?