Author Topic: Greetings and Inquiries!  (Read 15475 times)

Sykafoo

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Greetings and Inquiries!
« on: January 21, 2011, 06:15:38 PM »
First of all, let me express just how excited I am about finding this place. I stumbled upon it quite by accident a couple of days ago, and I'm really thrilled to see such an active community for rogue-likes still.

Anyway... a bit about myself. I'm a novice in the area of computer programming, although I've dabbled before. I hope to get more experience by backwards engineering and modifying a project that has already seen some tweaking and polishing. I really want to do that with Roguelikes. I'm not asking for someone to tutor me or anything, just letting you know what I'm thinking about doing. I was planning on doing something in Java, but with the amount of games that are written in C, it will be easier to find one that's a solid work of art in C, it looks like.

I was wondering if it was acceptable to take a roguelike current (such as Angband) and then take a different development path, basically a variant if you will. Are variants frowned upon by the community? I noticed that ToME started as an Angband variant... how long did it take to be its own game? How much needs to be changed? I'm not looking to steal anyone's work, and I'm not going to be selling any of my work either... but I just don't want to step on any toes. I will want to release my stuff eventually (obviously as freeware, open-source) but I don't want people to feel ripped off by my work. Is it better for me to just start from scratch on my own?

Anyway... thanks again for all your input and thoughts...

AgingMinotaur

• Rogueliker
  • Original Discriminating Buffalo Man
    • View Profile
    • Land of Strangers
Re: Greetings and Inquiries!
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 08:51:51 PM »
Welcome. I wish you great prosperity in your endeavour to make a Roguelike.