Author Topic: Need some total newbie help...  (Read 13435 times)

Rembo

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Need some total newbie help...
« on: April 19, 2011, 10:13:25 PM »
I've recently taken up programming again, both in the little spare time I have and as a course I'm following. Trying to make my self-teaching interesting I'm trying to make a tiny little roguelike to expand my abilities in a 'fun' way  :P I'm running into some very basic problems though, and searching the net doesn't seem to get me anywhere...

Here goes noob-deadlock 1: I'm trying to compile the simple roguelike found here http://pastebin.com/f76161be3. on C++ using VC++ 2010. I've already added the int that appears to be missing (or not... I don't know), placed curses.h, panel.h and pdcurses.lib in a directory that I\v added to the project properties include dirs, and added pdcurses.lib to external dependencies.

It gives me the error: LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'curses.lib'

I'm really at a loss at this point, since this is, contraryb to my earlier statement, far from noob-deadlock #1 for me, including errors about unresolved externals pointing me to functions defined in curses...So basically, I think a little help on this one might... well... help

corremn

• Rogueliker
  • SewerJack Extraordinaire
    • View Profile
    • Demise RogueLike Games
Re: Need some total newbie help...
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 12:07:25 AM »
You seem to be linking to curses.lib not pdcurses.lib?  Change your linker settings to link to the correct file. (project/properties/linker/input)  You can also set the Additional Library Directories to inlude you directory where your lib files are.

Cheers, good luck. 
Also dont forget that google is your friend.  Quite often you can paste the exact error in search and find an answer.
Also you can look at Microsofts MSDN for more help on specific errors, like LNK1104