Author Topic: Modern Hitman/Spy RL  (Read 13580 times)

Draconis

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Modern Hitman/Spy RL
« on: April 27, 2011, 02:35:52 AM »
Hi,

I've been wanting to make a spy/hitman themed roguelike for a while now.

I'm thinking randomly generated missions and goals. Each mission would be similar to a traditional style dungeon with levels (up/down), but the mission objectives would change and provide some quite varied gameplay. I'd also like so quite smart AI for when guards etc are alerted to your presence. I'd like to draw on games such as hitman which allows many ways to win a level, and also splinter cell/thief in general.

I'm fairly new to roguelike development and I'm just looking to see what people think and for any suggestions.

Thanks,
Draconis

Vanguard

• Rogueliker
    • View Profile
Re: Modern Hitman/Spy RL
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2011, 07:29:58 AM »
Welcome to the Temple, Draconis!

I think it's a potentially fun idea.  I believe there are a few roguelikes out there that use line of sight-based stealth.  It might be worth looking for a few to see what works and what doesn't.

Just FYI though, an intelligent AI is very difficult to write.  It might be best to have small ambitions in that department for your first project.

Good luck!

Rabiat

• Rogueliker
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2011, 03:05:42 PM »
Hi Draconis.

I once tried to make a stealth-based RL, but abandoned it because I came to the conclusion my design was fundamentally flawed. I still think a stealth-based RL is a great idea, but I think anyone trying to make one should consider the following problems.

- Sneakers like Thief or Hitman are realtime, while most roguelikes are traditionally turn-based. In turn-based gameplay, the suspense of time-critical decisions is lost.