Author Topic: First Roguelike on Python 3  (Read 9443 times)

Mathematikus

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
First Roguelike on Python 3
« on: July 28, 2015, 03:39:15 PM »
Lately I have been learning Python 3 I would like to try and make a simple roguelike.

The apparently popular "Complete Roguelike Tutorial, using python+libtcod" uses Python 2.7. and says that libtcod is incompatible with Python 3.
However I have found a library called tdl (https://pypi.python.org/pypi/tdl/1.5.0) which promises to be a similar library that works with Python 3.4.
Does anyone here have experience with it? Is it similar enough to libtcod that one can follow the old tutorial?

For context:
I'm not very experienced programmer, but I can handle basic things and am not afraid of math or logic.
Admittedly there are things in programming that baffle me, although hopefully that can be surpassed.

So: Is it good idea for a beginner to try to make a roguelike in Python 3?
I would prefer to do this rather than revert to Python 2.7.
I could also imagine learning an engine (Unity? Godot?), but learning an actual language seems like it could be a good time investment.

Krice

• (Banned)
  • Rogueliker
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: First Roguelike on Python 3
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2015, 09:49:03 PM »
It's an idea. It's not good or bad I guess. Creating a roguelike (even a simple one) if you are not experienced in programming or game development may possibly be a bad idea, but it can be also a learning process. I would start with simpler projects.

Untrustedlife

• Rogueliker
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2015, 03:31:13 AM »
I personally dislike Jice's coding style .Though libtcod is a great library for making roguelikes and hes a very cool guy.
(His c++ tutorial's code is cringe inducing for people who have been formally taught, but great for beginners (IMO))
when I followed it I basically rewrote most of his code to fit conventions, but thats just me)