Author Topic: WIP: Chaos Fortress  (Read 10091 times)

Camedo

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
WIP: Chaos Fortress
« on: April 15, 2011, 07:15:12 AM »
I'm sure there's a ton of new rogues that crop up all the time and then vanish just as fast, but I hope to avoid the same fate. I've been playing roguelikes for a few years now, and i've always wanted to create one to call my own. I've programmed in a few languages before, but i've recently acquired a student license for developing with C# and XNA on the XBOX 360. I've spent a few days reading articles and hammering out a basic engine, and i'm staggered by how fast this is progressing. I've already implemented:
 - Basic Dungeon Generation
 - Mingos' Restrictive Precise Angle Shadowcasting
 - Character Movement
 - Basic Monsters (they wander, but there's no combat yet)
 - Speed System (using the 'energy' model)
 - A*Star Pathfinding

My design is heavily inspired by DCSS, my personal favorite. But i'm doing a lot of reading up on roguelike articles and design discussions, and looking for ways to improve my design. POWDER is another of my absolute favorite rogues, and I intend to try and use a similar 'slimmed down' control interface, as the XBOX lacks that 3000 key options keyboards clearly do. :p

Basic objective is to dive 25 floors, unlock the Chaos Fortress and kill the boss within, then escape with.. some obscure artifact i've yet to name. In true Crawl style, the main dungeon is riddled with entrances to other branches, and many of these contain the keys necessary to open the Fortress at the bottom of the dungeon.

I've attached some screenshots if anyone is interested in seeing the progress so far, and if people are interested i'll definitely keep the community posted on development. It's aimed as an Indie Game release for $1, but I plan on creating a windows build down the road. (Just as soon as I get a computer that can run the XNA framework's graphic requirements. Silly laptop)