Author Topic: Mech combats roguelike in Ruby  (Read 9691 times)

kipar

• Rogueliker
    • View Profile
    • Email
Mech combats roguelike in Ruby
« on: March 19, 2011, 12:19:37 PM »
The best way of learning a new language is to write a game in it. So it's my first attempt to create something in Ruby and my first attempt to use Curses library.
I've used algorithms from roguebasin page about ruby (permissive FOV and Bresenham). At first I've used recommended at roguebasin library NCurses, but there is no compiled version of this module for ruby 1.9, so i migrated to standard curses module (sadly it doesn't support some keypresses (arrows and numpad without Numlock)).

The link is
http://www.mediafire.com/?19q577h9flfkzbf

You need a Ruby (www.ruby-lang.org) to run it though. I have only tried it in Windows, but it should works in linux too (at least i hope so).

Psiweapon

• Rogueliker
  • Im in ur rougeliekz, pixelling ur tielz!
    • View Profile
    • I Lovemaking Tiles
Re: Mech combats roguelike in Ruby
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2011, 06:43:33 PM »
Downloading Ruby. Let's give this a shot =)
The invisible hand is a lie, the fiendish dogma of the market cultists. Lest the apostasy grows strong, their blood god will devour each and everyone, pious and infidel alike.

Psiweapon

• Rogueliker
  • Im in ur rougeliekz, pixelling ur tielz!
    • View Profile
    • I Lovemaking Tiles
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2011, 10:51:20 PM »
Man, I've downloaded Ruby, and ran your game, but my laptop has no keypad =< I'll have to try it on my desktop.

They look nice, though =D Both your game and Ruby.
The invisible hand is a lie, the fiendish dogma of the market cultists. Lest the apostasy grows strong, their blood god will devour each and everyone, pious and infidel alike.

TSMI

• Rogueliker
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2011, 08:48:06 AM »