Author Topic: Making a Mac Roguelike  (Read 12653 times)

DaedricPrime

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Making a Mac Roguelike
« on: March 17, 2011, 12:23:32 AM »
Hi All!,

I have decided to not do a different roguelike project, but am still very much wanting to do a roguelike, or at least an RPG that is primarily influenced ( >50% ) by roguelikes.  So I recently mulled over my options.

One of my ideas was to do a "Mac Roguelike", which would double as a way to learn Objective-C and Cocoa ( I'm a traditional C/C++ Windows and Mac OS X programmer by trade ).   I was thinking of something along the lines of ADOM, Elona, etc ( rpg-like roguelikes if you will ), tile-based, no "level cap",  a "classless" class system, non-traditional magic (Sound, Cards, etc ), a complex loot system, and  character-building "overland activities" (like building up your own estate).  [ Though I haven't finished brainstorming and pairing-down actual features to implement. ]

I realize that there aren't many Mac-based rogue-devs around, but I figured it wouldn't hurt to float a balloon or two and see what pops up!  ;P

Comments?

Xecutor

• 7DRL Reviewer
  • Rogueliker
    • View Profile
Re: Making a Mac Roguelike
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 02:18:07 PM »
I don't think it's worth to make 'mac only' roguelike.
The genre is far from being 'most popular' and mac is the platform that is not (yet?) dominating.
IMO it's better to make portable (at least Win,Linux & Mac OS X) game.

Fenrir

• Rogueliker
  • The Monstrous Wolf
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2011, 02:47:42 PM »
It isn't worth it if he is looking to reach as many players as possible, but, if his goal is just to get an awesome Roguelike on the Mac, I encourage him to do so. There is nothing wrong with being an OS fanboy, so long as he isn't raising hell about it. I've always wanted to be a fanboy.

(Sound, Cards, etc )
Sound? How would you use sound in Roguelike magic?

BirdofPrey

• Newcomer
    • View Profile